Great Classical Pieces

Great Classical Pieces

Taking a break from lit notes and lit in general so I thought I should write a post to share my love for classical music…

Great pieces to check out:

Cello/Violin/Strings

  1. Oblivion by Piazzolla. Check out Stjepan Hauser’s interpretation.
  2. Czardas by Monti. An incredibly difficult piece, popular among violinists but I do like it when played by the cello too. I prefer the version by Luka Sulic.
  3. Alt-Wiener Tanzweisen (Liebesleid, Liebesfreud, Schön Rosmarin) by Kreisler. Very very beautiful pieces.  Check our versions by Anne Akiko Meyers or the man himself—Kreisler
  4. Air on G String by Bach.
  5. Rondo Capriccioso by Saint-Saens. My current favorite. Anne Akiko Meyers!!!!! There are ones in piano too.
  6. The swan by Saint-Saens for cello.

Piano

(I love Chopin!!!!!!!!)

  1. Any Nocturne by Chopin. Oh God. I can listen to these all day! (love the E-flat major, B-flat minor
  2. Waltz in C-sharp minor, Waltz in G-flat major, Waltz in E-minor by Chopin. Chopin!!!
  3. Ständchen by Schubert, transcribed for solo piano by Liszt.
  4. Barcarolle n. 1 in A minor by Fauré
  5. Liebesträume by Liszt. My absolute favourite set of piano pieces…

 

Leave a Reply

