A horse that withdrew? A touching post from Adelinde Cornelissen

A horse that withdrew? A touching post from Adelinde Cornelissen

I came across this post by Adelinde Cornelissen,  was really touched by it, and found it worth keeping/sharing. It could be that I’m just charged with hormones after a long week. I must say though, that the message is very profound and it reminded me (again) of the importance of making sacrifices for more important things, for people whom we love, even if the “person” is not an actual human being but an animal. The post goes:

I took it easy in the warm up and didn’t want to ride full. He was ok, although he didn’t feel very powerful. Normal of course after a day like yesterday. I walked a lot to save the energy.. When I entered I already felt he was giving his utmost and being the fighter he is, he never gives up… But in order to protect him, I gave up…My buddy, my friend, the horse that has given everything for me his whole life does not deserve this…. So I saluted and left the arena…

Often, we’re so obsessed with our own desires, our ambition, objectives and fail the recognise the need to have compassion/love/kindness. Yes, winning (especially in the Olympics) is important, but sometimes, social relationships/love/gratitude/health/life is more important

(ok this is quite a lame post and I’m trying to find something meaningful to say, but I guess the touching part of the message is already conveyed by the message per se)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

